Complete information about T20 World Cup, 45 matches, 29 days, DRS for the first time, Reserve day for semi-finals and final

Everest Look October 17, 2021 5 Min Read
Updated 2021/10/17 at 5:54 AM
5 Min Read

After a long gap of five years, the T-20 World Cup is being organized once again. This great battle of cricket will start from October 17. The first match will be played between Oman and Papua New Guinea. The final will be on November 14.

Who will be the host ICC T20 World Cup 2021 ?

The 2021 World Cup is being hosted in Oman and UAE, but will be hosted by India and BCCI. Earlier, it was supposed to be held in India, but due to the second wave of Corona epidemic, it was shifted to UAE and Oman.

How many teams will participate in T20 world cup 2021 ?

16 teams are participating in T20 World Cup 2021. The first round is of the qualifying round. The 8 teams are divided into two groups of 4-4. The top 2 teams from both the groups will qualify for the main group stage.

The eight teams in the qualifying round include Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea. The main group stage is also called Super 12. The two groups of Super-12 and the teams involved are as follows..

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1 and A2

Super-12 will host 30 matches. The top-2 teams of both the groups will enter for the semi-finals. In this way, 45 matches will be played covering the entire tournament.

How will the team get points in T20 World Cup match?

The winning team in each match in the group stage will be given 2 points. In case the match is tied, the decision will be made by the super over. On the other hand, if for some reason the super over was not possible or the match was canceled, then both the teams will get 1-1 points. The losing team will not get any points. In the group stage, if the points of the two teams remain the same, then based on the number of wins between them and the net run rate, it will be decided which team will advance.

Will DRS be used ?

DRS will be used for the first time in T20 World Cup. Each team will be given two chances of DRS. It was not used in the 2016 T20 World Cup.

What if the match is tied ?

If a match is tied during the World Cup, the teams will play a super over. If the super over is also tied, then the teams will continue to play the super over till the match is decided. If a super over is not possible, due to weather conditions or lack of time, the match will be declared a tie and the teams will be awarded one-on-one points.

If no result could be achieved during the semi-finals, then the teams that have performed better in the Super 12 group will reach the final. If the match could not be completed in the final for any reason, then both the teams will be declared joint winners. No reserve day has been set for group matches. There is a reserve day for the semifinals and finals.

What will the T20 World Cup winning team get ?

The winning team in the World Cup will be awarded USD 1.6 million (approximately 19.2 million NR ). The runners-up team will get USD 8 lakh (about Rs 10 crore NR ). The two teams that lost in the semi-finals will be given USD 4 4 lakh, i.e. Rs 5 crore NR .

Will the spectators be able to watch the match ?

In Dubai, about 70 % of spectators will be allowed to enter the stadium. The spectators will also come to the stadium in Abu Dhabi to watch the match. In Muscat, the capital of Oman, only 3,000 spectators have been allowed to enter the stadium.

Leave a comment