Sajha Party and Bibeksheel Nepali announced their unification

Everest Look December 9, 2020 2 Min Read
Updated 2020/12/09 at 5:22 PM
2 Min Read
Photo: Milan Pandey / Bibeksheel Sajha Party

The Rabindra Mishra-led Sajha Party and Milan Pandey-led Bibeksheel Nepali on Wednesday announced their unification.

The announcement of unification was made amid a virtual press conference at 4pm today. The unified party has been named Bibeksheel Sajha Party.

Twenty-three months after their split, the two parties announced their merger, coinciding with the International Anti-Corruption Day.
The declaration of unification was also issued during the press conference.

Earlier today, the two parties signed an agreement to form the new party. The new party has opted for Sajha Party’s election symbol— a balance.

Mishra of Sajha Party will lead the re-unified party as its chairperson whereas Milan Pandey will be called the coordinator, according to the party unification deal.
Earlier, the two parties announced their unification just ahead of parliamentary elections in 2017. However, they split in January 2019 as the party’s intra-party feud escalated due to rivalry between two major factions over several issues including the party’s future course of action and performance of the party leadership.

Major highlights of the declaration:

-The party will have a 130-member central committee

-There will be a 26-member central secretariat of the party

-Rabindra Mishra will lead re-unified party as its chairperson whereas Milan Pandey will be called the coordinator

-A balance (Taraju) has been taken as the party’s election symbol

-The unity convention of the party will be conducted within six months of the merger

Leave a comment